top of page

All streams lead to the river

It's so hard to keep going but it's so worth it. Last month I tried one of those challenges but I made sure it fit what I really love. A fantastic group of artists called Warrior Painters was a group i had been watching for a while and when the challenge presented itself i was in. So April was all about small gouache studies. Every day in April. I was already doing them but not consistently every day so this seemed the perfect way to take it up a notch. It was a great practice and now in May I finally got to my oils again after a couple of small injuries and well life taking over my attention and got out there. Feeling a little nervous i just made sure to show up. and it turns out those studies really did strengthen my muscle for painting...i didn't feel as fussy and was able to lay in the whole thing more confidently, i felt like i got my values better and was able to traverse some tricky color shifts. yeah its a journey, i don't think this oil is the best but my point is those small studies have really been helping me. Its hard just like anything but it pays off. and once you're there in the process its bliss.


Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page